“Celebrating Success                    ”

Local Academy Board


The Local Academy Board (LAB) represents Springfield School and The Meadows School.

The Board exercises its duties through three committees:

  • Leadership and Managment

  • Teaching and Learning

  • Wellbeing

The Local Academy Board has a nominated governor for Safeguarding and Child Protection, PREVENT, Looked after Children and Pupil/Sports Premium.


LAB meetings for the coming year are:

Thursday 5th November 2020

Thursday 25th February 2021

Thursday 10th June 2021

Committee meetings are held approximately four weeks before the Local Academy Board meeting.


LAB Minutes and other documents:-

July 2020 minutes

February 2020 minutes

November 2019 minutes

Disclosure of business percuniary

Code of Conduct for Governors



Name Type of Governor Term of Office Responsibilities
Diane Finney
(Staff Member)
Joan Wright
(Staff Member)
Malcolm Sproat Chair of Local Governing Board November 2024 Leadership and Management
Chris Best
(Staff Member)
Executive Headteacher October 2023 Leadership and Management
Angela Whitfield Governor March 2022 Teaching and Learning
Darryl Davies November 2021 Leadership and Management; Wellbeing; Safeguarding and Child protection; PREVENT; Vulnerable Groups
Debbie Willshaw November 2023 Teaching and Learning; Reading and Phonics
Derek Hilyer November 2021 Leadership and Management; Pupil and Sports Premiums
Ruth Buckley November 2023 Wellbeing
Colin Pearce Parent Governor November 2022 Health and Safety; Teaching and Learning
Gemma Mason February 2025
Amy Chappell
(Staff Member)
Staff Governor October 2023 Teaching and Learning
Samuel Hambleton
(Staff Member)
January 2024